Dhaka, Dec 24 (UNB) — Tanvir Ahmed, who made too many erroneous decisions in just concluded home series against West Indies, said that he made a mistake in calling for no-ball off Oshane Thomas delivery during the fourth over of Bangladesh’s innings in the third and final T20I on Saturday at Dhaka.
“I am new in international cricket, and I made a mistake. But if you look at my past, I have no record of making this kind of errors. Everyone goes through bad days, it was one of my bad days,” Tanvir Ahmed said while talking to media.
Tanvir called for a no-ball in fourth over off Oshane Thomas, which looked a legal delivery in TV replays. West Indian players saw the replay in the giant screen which is installed in the gallery of Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium and applied for a Player Review in spite of no rule allowing for a Player Review over no-balls.
After being denied of a review, West Indian players stopped the game and Carlos Brathwaite, their captain, had a long discussion with reserve umpire and match referee Jeff Crowe. But the decision of no-ball stayed because there is no rule of International Cricket to reverse a call of no-ball.
“I am thinking about my mistake and not looking at anywhere else. I am hopeful to come back strongly,” Tanvir said as criticism raged in cricketing arena.
Right after the match, West Indian captain Carlos Brathwaite expressed his thoughts about erroneous umpiring. He said at the post-match press meet: “The rule is that if a no-ball is called it cannot be reviewed or reversed. But if it isn’t called, it can be reversed checking the video. Everyone saw that it was not a no-ball. For a young man who is inexperienced, Oshane Thomas, was under the pump to finally get a dismissal, but the ball has gone to your name as free-hit, to bowl the extra ball with an extra run.”