Australia faced an early setback, losing three wickets within the first 10 overs in their pursuit of 241 against India in the ICC World Cup 2023 final on Sunday in Ahmedabad.
Mohammad Shami, India's most successful bowler in this World Cup, claimed the first wicket in the second over of the innings as David Warner edged, and Virat Kohli took a sharp catch at the slip cordon.
In the fifth over of the innings, Mitchell Marsh fell victim to Jasprit Bumrah. The delivery, positioned outside the off-stumps, saw Marsh making no foot movement, resulting in an edge to the wicketkeeper after scoring 15 off 15 balls.
Bumrah struck again to dismiss Steven Smith. This time, it was an offcutter outside off stumps. Smith missed, and the ball hit his pad, leading to an lbw appeal. The umpire raised his finger, but TV replays showed that the impact was outside off.
If Smith had opted for a review, he would have been declared not out. But Smith decided to walk off instead of going for a review.
After 12 overs, Australia were at 68 for three, with Marnus Labuschagne and Travis Head at the crease.